Some Money Magix.

I’ve always figured that once I got out of my magic-fixes-everything phase that I’d never end up going back. I always wanted to go back. I remember looking back at blogs and practitioners who could whip out some magix like it was going out of style and being incredibly jealous about it. I figured that as a recon practitioner, magix probably wouldn’t have too much to do with my practice. The Egyptian form of magix and the current form of magix didn’t seem like they would ever be able to meet comfortably at any point, either in the middle or on one heavier end of the spectrum. I’ll tell you this: I was wrong. And I’ll also add this: I’m just about ready to stop saying that I’m not a witchy or magical person. Almost. I guess we can thank both Aset and Hekate for that.

A little before I blew up at Papa Legba and Hekate for failing to take care of me, I heard both Aset and Hekate murmuring to me about how I should do some money magix. I was sorely skeptical that I didn’t dignify with an answer at first. What’s the point if everything fails? I asked whomever was listening. I was thinking, specifically, of the spell/curse I had done on behalf of the Sister. The two abusers are still very much living in her home and she doesn’t have much legal recourse unless that means her telling her landlord. (She seems to believe he will evict her along with them.) I pointed out how the spell I did has yet to show any results when I was forced to look, clearly, at the lives those two people are leading.

And… yes… I would have to say misery and suffering is definitely going on all over the place in their little home of three. All they do is argue, if what the Sister says is correct. And the arguments on cyclical, unending, and invariably end with the same result, her crying and telling him to shut up and his exasperation inevitably growing. And as Hekate pointed out to me in a twilight state, I never demanded that they leave the premises of the Sister. I only asked that they suffer as much as they’ve made her suffer, and then more than they can possibly bear.

Hm… This has taught me that I need to be a bit more careful and specific when it comes to magical things. I should probably be as clear as possible when doing spell craft. With that in mind, on the night of Yule, I decided to go ahead and do some of my own little money magix. I can’t recall the last time I did some, except that I’m sure it failed in some way or another. (I have various theories about that and I’ll get into it [again] at some future point since I have better theories than my last few.) I figured Yule was a good idea because there are lots of energies going into the Winter Solstice and Yule celebrations, as well as the fact that Fridays are my night with Hekate. It was like a double whammy of super awesomeness. I couldn’t ignore it.

All of the supplies I felt were necessary.

All of the supplies I felt were necessary.

I will admit that when it comes to magical endeavors, I take what I gleaned from all of my years as an obsessive-compulsive asshole and put it into practice. Before I go about doing anything, I make sure I have all of the supplies I think are necessary. This includes anything off-the-cuff in my last-ditch efforts of wracking my brain for additions. I’m organized, but only so much. When it comes to magical endeavors, I very much enjoy not having a clear plan of action. I do not edit these into a BoS or anything (that may come later). I do not think about anything more intently than whatever heka I work into spell form on whatever I am thinking of. That’s the extent of my planning and plotting besides deciding to do some magix and deciding what happens to the jar after the fact.

I feel it is very freeing.

This is my execration for the job situation.

This is my execration for the job situation.

I was told by a few people that I have some blocks up and that’s part of the reason why I am having trouble with the job thing. I don’t know what those particular blocks are, however. I have ideas, but there are so many possibilities besides my own head and issues that I decided to draw a faux brick wall for the execration I utilized prior to the jar spell. Around the image, I wrote words that I felt helped to continue my own blocks, such as doubt, fear, and unqualified. These are things I have to swallow back whenever I apply for a job, thinking that I won’t get it because I didn’t graduate from college even though the experiences and work history I have clearly denote me as adequately able to perform the tasks necessary. Across the top of the brick wall, I wrote unknown blockages and then I coated the hell out of the Clear Away Evil oil that SilverShadow from The Pagan Rapport created for me.

The smell of the oil was wonderful, by the way. I recommend it.

See that wicked blade?

Do you see that wicked blade? It’s best for stabbing things.

It burned so hot, there was very little ash left over.

It burned so hot, there was very little ash left over.

I did the usual working one does with execrations. I stomped on the blocks. I spat at them. I crumbled it all into a ball. And then I stabbed the ever-loving shit out of it. I felt like I was pulling that damn wall down, brick by brick, with each passing swipe of my hands or feet or spittle. And then, I took that bad boy outside to burn. It burned for all of five minutes and it was entirely gone by the time I brought the whole thing back inside to add to my jar. I actually had to use a small brush to get as much of the ash into the jar as I could. There was very little clean up, which was exciting. It made me feel like I was going the right track.

I cannot express this enough: Doing an execration against the things that bother you, hurt you, or need to be removed is really the best magix. This is why I start my spells with execrations and why I add the ashes to the jar. It’s all about symbolism. I’m destroying whatever the fuck is in the way and I’m putting that destruction into the jar to help the intent manifest by showing the intention that whatever was causing the blockage is gone now.

Is that logic? Oh, yeah, man. Logic has its place in this magical scene, too, you know.

For two dollars, I have a half-inch stack of fake money.

For two dollars, I have a half-inch stack of fake money.

A day or two before I did my magix, I had gone out to find some cheap ass votive candles so that I could use them in any future magical workings. I knew that this was a turning point: by doing a money magix jar, I was openly stating to Hekate and Aset (the two who need to hear it and want to hear it) that there would be future endeavors of this nature. At iParty, I found that they sell votives for fifty cents each. They only had one green votive, so it was like fate. While I was there, I also picked up a pack of fake money since I was doing a working for money. Again, it comes down to symbolism. Utilizing my heka, I carefully wrote in green ink across the million dollar bill, to bring steady income ($1200/month) to my life and home.

I was very careful about placing an exact amount in there. I could survive easily on less, but I wanted to place that much in there in case TH isn’t able to get unemployment and the things he is working on with his father don’t pan out properly. I figure, this way, I’m making sure that I can make our lives without any other type of financial resources.

I added personal items of mine: hair and fingers nails.

I added personal items of mine: hair and fingers nails.

I also added gold coins to sink the point home.

I also added gold coins to sink the point home.

I read somewhere that if you want to make a homing device for spells to work, you need to add portions that represent you. There is nothing that represents a person better than their hair and fingernail clippings. It seemed like the best way to get this hunter-seeker spell going. After that, I also added two chocolate, gold coins. This was to reinforce the point that I need money and I need it pretty badly, but to also sweeten the deal. There’s something about the reek of desperation, but you know, chocolate always makes things better.

Herbs, yo.

Herbs, yo.

I added herbs because I have a shit ton of them and it seems like a waste to just keep them in my cabinets, looking all useless. But in all honesty, I really enjoy herbal magic. I like to make little sachets for specific purposes. If I had an unlimited supply of lavender, for example, I would always have a lavender sachet around me because I love the scent and its very calming (and I am actually not very much of a calm person). For the herbs in this particular spell, I chose may apple, alfalfa, allspice, patchouli, clove, and tea. Some of the associations for the herbs I chose are from a Cunningham book while others stem from a more hoodoo-like perspective.

The candle, burning bright for the next fifteen hours.

The candle, burning bright for the next fifteen hours.

When I felt that I had all that I needed in there, I added a few drops of Crown of Success oil from SilverShadow. I then capped the whole shebang and placed it on Hekate’s altar. I anointed the green candle I had bought for this phase with the same oil and watched it burn for the next few hours. It was halfway done when I snuffed it for the night. The next day, it was only a matter of time before it melted down. Unfortunately, as much as I wanted to bury it, it snowed and then I had a crazy couple of days.

I did end up burying the jar in the backyard so that it will take root. I’m lucky I chose when I did because a few hours later, a bunch of snow was dumped on us.

Can you guess where my spell is? I know.

Can you guess where my spell is? I know.

A last little tidbit. I know that I’ll be moving, probably, within the next couple of months. (And not for the reasons that people may think.) With that in mind, I couldn’t help but wonder what I was supposed to do with the jar itself. I knew I didn’t want to leave it behind – kind of like how I am loathe to leave the land spirit behind. So, I asked a witchy friend of mine on Tumblr, Witchling, what the hell I was supposed to do with the damn thing if/when I moved. I’m reproducing her entire response for anyone who ends up in a similar boat as me.

If you’re burying it in the yard so it will draw money to the property, you should dig it up and rebury it wherever you move to. But allow us to indulge an urban witch’s tendency to think through the symbology of a thing for a moment.

You’re burying the jar so that it will bring something to you, essentially “planting” it. Thus, should you move and simply dig it up, you could kill it in the “transplanting” of it. A “dead” money jar might simply not do its job, or it might actively repel money.

Thus, whatever the jar “takes root” in needs to come as well, so that the jar can be “transplanted” properly. This might involve anything from simply digging up the dirt around the jar as well, to wrapping it in something you consider insulating to keep it “alive” and then blessing it or renewing the magic on it when you replant it so it will “grow” as before.

3 thoughts on “Some Money Magix.

  1. I was actually going to suggest taking the dirt around it and bringing that too. You can get a large hermetic jar that likely would be able to hold your spell and the dirt around it to transport, or even keep if you move into an apt with no yard. It’s something I’m looking into.

  2. Pingback: Update on Witchery. | Mystical Bewilderment

Leave a Reply

