The Voodoo Project: First Things First.

Secrecy is a huge thing in voodoo. This is actually a lot more important in the realm of voodoo than it is in paganism, which is why it’s so hard to find good information. Wait. What? I’m not saying that those pagans who live quiet lives won’t get the shit end of the stick if they come out. And I can understand the need for secrecy, as I’ve discussed time and again. The thing is that in voodoo the need for secrecy, I see, is far more deeply ingrained. They weren’t even allowed to think about their old religions when the slaves were brought to the New World, but they practiced it anyway. Going along with this, that is why you see that the lwa have correlations with the saints: it was a way to hide their religion in plain sight. And while in the old days, death for witches was assured, so too was death assured for the Haitian slaves that brought the ancient forms of voodoo over. But, while paganism is slowly coming out of the wood work, we can’t say quite the same for voodoo. Too long have they hidden beneath the mantle of being “silly” or “backwards” by the Western world. Now, we begin to see otherwise and we no longer see them as “silly” or “backwards.” Instead, we begin to respect.

And it’s now that you find more and more books about voodoo out. And it’s now that we begin to learn more and more about their religion. But, still, silence is one of the most important things that a practitioner can provide in their practice. And as we all know, I’m not a fan of secrets or hiding. I never have been and probably, never will be. So, while I don’t practice anything more than a vaguely voodoo-flavored practice, I can at least set this out there as a kind of compendium of sorts. Too many people ask questions and get contradictory answers. Or, they get half-assed answers that end up making my head explode when they share them with me. So, with the prodding of Legba (SHUT UP, OLD MAN; I’M DOING IT), I’ve decided to make a list of the lwa and where you will often find them. This will be an on-going project. The first step is to give some basic information about voodoo and the lwa, then name as many of the lwa as I can in another post. Some time later, we’ll come upon their attributes and after that, a list of offerings.

The following are a few things that need to be kept in mind when a polytheist is approaching the lwa.

They are not gods.
I’ve seen a lot of people who are approaching the lwa from a god-bothered or god-worshiping standpoint refer to them as “gods.” I believe there are quite a few websites that, when you do a Google-fu search for information, refer to them as “gods.” This is as far from the truth as humanly possible. These are beings or spirits. Yes, they have power, which we could equate with a level that a god that we may worship has. I’ve seen them work and I’ve felt them block things from me as well as work for me in some cases, but I can tell you, point-blank, that if you approach a lwa with the intention and feeling as though they are a god, you will be laughed at, at the best (I’m thinking of Legba here who is sniggering away at the thought that he is a god.), and ignored, at the worst. They will tell you, if you open communication, that they are not gods and they don’t want to be known as such.

In my working with them, I’ve come to view them as having been people. They are ancient people, but they are people just like you and me. The only difference between them and myself is that they were lifted up to another level of existence after death. This came with people turning to them for help, but it also came from the lives that they lived. Maybe they lived lives that were in tune with what they are now associated with – Legba, maybe, was a man who guarded a crossroads or a wise man who knew things and opened doors for others; the Baron Samedi was, possibly, a man who worked on being more in tune with the Deadz and kept them alive in his mind’s eye. After years of being turned to in this regard on a human level, it became natural to approach them after death. And it is through those years of aiding and helping, of still doing as they had once done in human life, that they eventually became lwa. As a very quick note: THIS IS ENTIRELY UPG. How you feel about it may differ and that’s fine, but this works for me (and I’ll get into why in a few minutes).

No, they don’t belong to a ‘pantheon.’
I’ve actually seen this, primarily, in either newbie people talking about them or on some websites. “They’re a pantheon of gods (sic).” This is not the case in any way, shape, or form. Just as they are not gods, we cannot assume that they belong to a “pantheon.” A pantheon has numerous definitions and while it may work to look at their groupings as such, this is not the case. One of the reasons I’m saying that looking to them as though they are a pantheon would, I feel, lead to the feeling that they are gods. And as I have already explained this is not the case.

Another reason why I want to be clear that they are not a part of a pantheon of spirits is because it is made clear in numerous books and outlets (of repute) that neither of these words works in classifying them. The reason being that they have their own classifications. In ignoring the Creole version of things is something that we should not do and, I feel, it takes away from the greatness that is the lwa. Do I think you should learn the language? It could help, but I don’t think it’s necessary to work with them.

Each lwa is separated into nachons, which is the Creole word for nations. These nations are divided up via certain characteristics. Each lwa that displays these specific characteristics are placed within one of the five, main nachons, although there is a good deal of cross-over. I will name the different nachons and point out where to look up for more information in a forthcoming post.

No, you don’t worship them.
There is a very different feeling to what you do with the lwa versus what you do with your gods. It doesn’t matter what phrase you utilize when your with your gods, but the one you will find from a lot of Vodouisants (and me) is “service.” You are in service to the lwa. You are not revering them. You are not worshiping them. You are not getting down on your knees and singing their praises. You are not doing any of these things because you are in service to the lwa. Specifically, this means that, in regards to definitions, I am going to chose this one specifically: “the providing or a provider of accommodation and activities required by the public.” Only instead of “the public” we should change that to “the lwa.”

There is a working theory that the gods require our attention for whatever reason. (I’ve read in books, fiction though, that a god loses all its ability to manifest in this world when they lose followers.) In likewise, we can say the same of the lwa. However, the thing with the lwa is that they do not require more than a little bit here and there. Case in point: Legba only requires a daily dose of coffee and maybe some Mounds bars for me to continue to feel his presence in my home. (He also likes pennies. Lots and lots of pennies have made it into his dish in recent months.) The Baron and Papa Ghede are kind of in my life, but all they require is that I go to a cemetery now and then and pay attention to the Deadz therein. This isn’t always the case, depending on the type of relationship that may end up cultivated with a lwa. The thing is that it will never be required that the servitude being offered is more than you can give, whilst with a god, they may ask that you work on things that will take years and years before completion manifests.

In a sort of odd way, the lwa are more about the here and now whereas the gods are more about the long-term.

Catholicism is part and parcel.
One of the largest problems that I’ve found has been that working with them means that I have had to become more passingly aware of Catholic saints. As I mentioned above, each lwa has at least one representation that is a Catholic saint, although there can be many different saints associated with same lwa. For example, Legba is associated with St. Peter, St. Lazarus, and St. Anthony. Is it necessary to know the saints to know the lwa? Absolutely not. I eschew all of the Christian and Catholic trappings commonly found in voodoo practices. This was my own choice, but mostly stems from having decided that I didn’t want to be influenced, in any aspect, from a Christian perspective. While I understand that it was the survival of their religion that was at stake so many years ago and admire the ingenuity of these people, I cannot abide by the Christian images in my house. Too often I confuse myself and honestly, I know that none of the gods and spirits that I work with would appreciate the Catholic influence.

However, in so doing, I sometimes feel that I’m losing parts of what I want to know. Without being able to see Legba as St. Lazarus, surrounding by dogs and using a crutch, I sometimes feel like I’m missing out on a crucial part to who he is. Be that as it may, when you begin learning about the lwa, most websites will tell you the saints that each spirit is associated with. And because it is the natural order of the religion as done in societies, I will also be giving the associations of the saints that I can find. The reason I mention that getting to know the lwa means that you’ll get a little stuck getting to know Catholic saints is because…

Yep. They believe in ONE god.
This deity is known as Bondye. This term is derived from the French term, bon Deiu. (Source: Wiki.) Bondye is thought of as a supreme creator deity. He is remote. He is beyond our understanding. In similar, we can see the correlation between the good god of the Vodou faith with the one from some current Christian faiths. Since Bondye is so remote, it is not to him that we turn when we need help. It is via the lwa that the will of Bondye is done.

Now, from a polytheistic standpoint, this belief in a single god can be problematic. I can think of at least three polytheists who have had difficult times reconciling the Christian-influenced, single-deity belief of Vodou and Santeria when it became more prominent in their lives. I still know of others who just don’t question it: they’ll ask for assistance from Legba, but also turn to St. Anthony as well as other gods that are crossroads or liminal in nature. They don’t sweat the finer points and to be honest, nor do I. It can be difficult to wrap your polytheistic mindset around the idea of a single deity, but how one correlates it into practice is neither here nor there.

All that matters is that when you turn to the lwa, it is done with respect and kindness. Most of the lwa are fun and laid back, although they have moments of “uptightness.” (Such as Legba pushing and prodding until this was written, for fuck’s sake.) The perception of different viewpoints doesn’t really matter so much. It’s not the larger world view that we need to pay attention to when a lwa approaches or if you offer yourself to the lwa. All that matters is that you do so with respect, kindness, and intent. Everything else will, eventually, fall into place.

32 thoughts on “The Voodoo Project: First Things First.

  1. It’s interesting to read :)

    If you are considering making a bunch of posts on it, maybe you should make some type of navigation link at the top of your blog where you can store all of your lwa posts for people to read in one place.

  2. I can understand why many Kemetic Orthodox can easily practice Voodou also. It seems to be a misconception among some people in KO that the practice isn’t monotheistic (when it is). The Names of Netjer are just like the Lwa and Bon Dieu is like Netjeru. The Names have the same function as the Lwa, namely to manifest the will of Netjer/Bon Dieu to humans. KO’s viewpoint though is unique to the religion as the ancient Egyptians didn’t see their worship this way. Ra was and is not the supreme God (Netjer) in their eyes and this is where many problems begin for modern day KO practitioners. Speaking for myself alone, I never saw and do not see the Netjeru as Gods, they are simply servants to Netjer who is the only God, much like in Catholicism the Saints serve the same purpose in relation to YHWH/Yah eShua (Jesus). The term “god’ has also been misapplied as it actually just means “mighty one” which has at times in the BIble referred to humans as well.

    • During the course of the Reorg, she stated multiple times that it was a polytheistic religion at it’s core. So idk. I’ve seen people be all over the board on their stance on how ‘poly’ the netjer are. And it doesn’t really seem to be a requirement to see the gods a certain way to be a part of KO

  3. I don’t agree with everything you wrote. There are some lwa who have never been incarnate as human, such as Damballah. I realize you said this is strictly your UPG, but others who use your guide as just that (a guide) may assume that this is standard Vodou belief.

    Also, the lwa do often ask for things that people can’t afford, such as a maraj lwa (marriage to a lwa). Now, the nice thing about working with a lwa is that you can negotiate or decline such a demand, although they may keep bugging you about it.

    • And I think that’s the one thing about posting any of this stuff that gets to me. I’m not an expert, nor do I wish to be. The fact that people keep coming to me with questions (and Legba pushing) is the only reason I wrote this. I worry that in so doing people WILL take it “word of law” or whatever and that bugs me. I don’t want to be known as a teacher or an expert, but someone who is willing to put myself out there and say, “Hey, this is what I see.”

      I did forget about Damballah not being human, though. So, I’ll be sure to mention that part when I get into the associations and attributes and whatnot.

      I forgot about the maraj lwa actually. I’ve never met anyone who has one or has been asked to do one. The only time I’ve come across it was while reading Kenaz Filan’s book, actually. Personally, I don’t know how I would react if that was asked of me.

      • Then perhaps you should not title it “A Complete Guide to the Lwa.” There are tons and I mean tons of lwa. Damballah is not the only lwa who isn’t human. It needs to be clearly stated up front that this is your experience of the lwa rather than allowing people to interpret it as a definitive guide.

        Also, the lwa sometimes demand someone kanzo, which is another expensive ritual that many cannot afford.

        • I’m thinking that what I’ll end up doing is as Devo, above, had suggested: I’ll be posting all of this in a navigation link, change the name as you had suggested, and leave a big huge note saying that I’m not the teacher, I’m just honest. (Or something.) Thoughts?

          • I am not sure which post is Devo’s; maybe their user name here is something else or I am just overlooking it? Anyway…depending on the length of the entries, you could either do a navigation link or just do the lwa on a separate page of their own. Or each nachon of lwa on a separate page.

            If you do the navigation link, the disclaimer needs to be prominent and keep in mind that some people will just find one page by searching and may never notice the navigation link disclaimer if it is not included with each individual post (which could get tedious).

            If you do a page for each nachon, you could have the disclaimer at the top of each page. The downside of this is that followers will not get a notice each time you update that page.

            As there are so many lwa and it’s going to be impossible to catalog them all even if you kanzoed and traveled in Haiti, maybe you could name it something like “[Your Name] Guide to the Lwa” or “A Guide to the Lwa” and as a subtitle mention that it is based on your personal experience and does not necessarily reflect the experience of the larger Vodou community, and then just include citations for your sources when it isn’t based on your experience. I put something like that on my About Me page, as I knew there were going to be experiences that I either misinterpreted or that did not exactly match the experiences of others. That covers a lot and then it’s optional if you want to mention that you are not an initiate.

            I thought about doing a guide at one time but felt it would be a citation nightmare and opted for referring people to good existing resources.

            • I am Devo :3 WP wouldn’t let me pick ‘Devo’ as my username, so I had to go with something else :\

              I was suggesting she do some navigation pages at the top (I have something similar on my WP) so that way, they are permalinked and always easily accessible to readers. She could technically create them in any hierarchy she felt like- having nested pages and all of that. Food for thought of course. Lwa are totally out of my knowledge range, so that was all I could offer that was useful lol.

            • It definitely will be a citation nightmare. It’s so hard to find good things on the web, since a lot of people coming to anything I do will want the web resources before they want the book resources…

              • I would go ahead and cite as many books as you want. Knowledge needs to be earned and people should not expect to freely access everyting on the web. Plus with books it is sometimes easier to assess the author’s qualifications.

      • Voodoo and Vodou are different religions, not 2 words interchangeable for the same religion. What you describe in your post is actually Vodou, not Voodoo. Vodou has a very limited use of Catholic Saints, if they are even used at all, it is rare, while Voodoo on the other hand, uses Catholic Saints just as much as the lwa, and saints and lwa can be seen side by side on an altar. Vodou uses strict recital of calling on the lwa in order of rank from Rada to Petro to Geede to start ad end every service and ritual, while Voodoo rarely starts services this way. Vodou is an ancestor based religion, while Voodoo is a Christian religion.

        Vodou is the original “tribal” religion from Africa, (which was established in the 1600s in Haiti, by blending together belief from dozens of tribal religions from Africa) while Voodoo is an American blending of three religions: African Vodou, Scottish Hoodoo (aka Welsh Traditional Witchcraft), and Christianity (mostly Catholic, but some Pen Dutch Puritan as well), that did not come about until the 1700s.

        Voodoo uses ancestors, saints, spirits, and deities from ALL religions of the world (including Hindu, Buddhist, Native American, ect) and accepts Jesus as Lord and Savior and considers the lwa to be akin to angles.

        Vodou does not accept either Jesus or the deities of other religions as part of it’s practice, and has ONLY the lwa, some of which are considered as lesser deities.

        This is a very significant difference between the two. The other large difference between the two is the reversal of roles in the community:

        Vodou is a religious practice that uses magic. Vodou is an organized religion, with a full set of dogmas, clergy, ranks, initiations, baptisms, etc. Magic arts are kept to a minimum, to become a clergy requires a vast knowledge of the ancestors and knowing by heart lengthy passages of recital of the names of hundreds upon hundreds of lwa all named in the correct order. Only a rare few clergy are trained in the magic arts, and these are considered to be Borka (Witch Doctors) or “evil priests who fell astray to practice dark magic”.

        Voodoo is a magic practice that uses religion. Voodoo is NOT an organized religion and has no guidelines, no clergy, no initiations, etc. Magic take precedence and is used for everything, one can not become a member of clergy without first having had several years of training in the magic arts, and it is being proficient in the magic arts that makes one a priest or priestess.

        What this means is that Vodou, like any other organized religion, has a very strict set of religious rules, guidelines, and dogmas, which practitioners must follow, while Voodoo picks and grabs any dogma from any religion under the sun or may just as easily choose not to follow any religious dogma at all.

        Most members of Vodou, look down on members of Voodoo. Vodou members consider Voodoo members to be “evil” or “two-headed”, because of their use of magic arts. Voodoo members often see Vodou members as elitist and arrogant.

        It is a common error for those not heavily within Vodou or Voodoo to think that these are simply two spelling variations for the same word, but those of us who live and practice it every day, we know that Vodou and Voodoo are vastly different things which should not be interchanged.

        You can now say that you have “met” (online, but still) someone who has taken the vows of maraj lwa. I am one of the brides of Damballa, or wife, however you wish to say it, both are accepted equally.

        How to react to being called to marry a lwa? My reaction was a mixture of fear and laughter in disbelief, than to say, “Yeah-right, thank you, but no, marrying an invisible dude, not my cup of tea.” Than I didn’t get a descent night’s sleep for 15 years, with him invading my dreams every night. Took him 15 years of bugging me to get me to say yes to it. The end result however is my life is now filled with a daily sense of peace, knowing he is there looking out for me. It is a wonderful experience. Damballa is of course the lwa of gentle love, peace, compassion, and serenity. For many years my life was full of turmoil and anxiety, I had PTSD, and at one point became agoraphobic – it was during this period that he started asking me to marry him (I was not Voodoo than, either, I was Mormon, and I became Voodoo as a result of my trying to find out who the heck was this white snake dude haunting my dreams each night). But the change, from before to after marrying Damballa was dramatic – I couldn’t step out of the house, I couldn’t drive a car, I couldn’t talk to people without running off screaming and hiding someplace “safe”, and now today? I’m completely the opposite, I’m in college now, double major, joined a ton of clubs/groups, I’m out giving presentations and talks and, I can go shopping or drive now, I haven’t had a single panic attack, my agoraphobia and PTSD are both a thing of the past. Since the maraj lwa to Damballa my life has become so full of peace and tranquility and at last I am able to live life and do things I want to do without constant fears and anxieties. The change in me is so dramatic it is nothing short of a miracle. This has come from the knowing that he is always with me, always at my side and will never leave me or forsake me. The maraj lwa may not be right for every one, but it was right for me.

        And as for the source of my information: I am Voodoo, my rank is Medsen Fey at the House of the Lansquin, a Medsen Fey being a Borka who shuns the use of dead animals and bones in ritual magic, and uses only plants/herbs/roots, which in plain English mean a Witch Doctor or for a better explanation, I’m a priestess who clients come to seeking such services as sell casting and curse removal. I am not a Mambo or Gro Mambo, which are less magically based ranks of Vodou.

        • I’m also becoming the bride of Damballah, this weekend in fact. He only had to ask me once. He showed himself to me with a big red, rose, and I was so honored, I accepted within a day or so. I just had to wrap my mind around it, but I was, and am, so very happy and my life is just getting better and better, even though my vows with him won’t be until this weekend. The peace I felt was immediate upon accepting. He proposed to me 3 weeks ago and I started my preparations immediately. Even though I still have some things to finish up this week, I can hardly wait.

    • What cheshirecatman says is true, Damballa IS considered to be a deity and is correctly known as one of “the lesser gods”. But what Mystical is saying is also true, MOST of the lwa are not gods, but spirits of dead humans from centuries past.

      And the maraj lwa, yes, you can say no, but they will bug you and bug you and bug you! LOL! I am a wife of Damballa, it took 15 years of him bugging me and me saying no, before I finally said yes.

  4. You have now met (well, online anyway) someone who has done the maryaj lwa :) (This is Mary Bee, btw).
    The lwa did demand it from me, and after telling them “I will do it if you get me the money and resources”, they did, and I did. I thought it would be 3 years before I could get everything together to do the ceremony. It took 1 and a 1/2 years instead.
    As a Vodouisant I found nothing wrong with your post, but as long as you stress that this is *your* experience and you don’t speak as a priest or priestess of the religion, I don’t see a prob with it. However, I will ask: have you ever gotten a reading from a mambo or houngan to see what spirits you have and what they want? I would really recommend that. And if you’re living somewhere where you don’t know any IRL clergy, I can tell you a couple who read by phone.

    • Hi! I suspected that was you, but now I know for sure. :)

      And congratulations on the maryaj lwa.

      I was definitely going to place a big fat warning and that says something like, “I am not a teacher, a mambo, a houngan. This is what I have figured out in my practice and I’m letting it out there.” I do agree with Cheshirecat about changing the title of it all, though.

      I’ve had two offers to have a reading done, actually. The first person is no longer online and the second is online sporadically. I’ve kept off because I’m a little scared of who they would see.

      • I recommend my friend and houngan in my house, Matt Deos. Head on over to blog.vodouboston.com and check him out. I trust him implicitly and he’ll read you good. And maybe share a couple recipes (he’s a great cook :) )

        • I’ve chatted with Houngan Matt a little on FB and like him. And really, there is no reason to fear a reading, it can be helpful to not only identify which lwa walk with you, but also to see what issues you need to work on. Knowing which lwa are with you can help you focus your service, and thus get better results.

  5. Verrrrry interesting. Can’t wait until you get to the individual Lwa so we can compare notes! ;-)

    Cheshirecatman is right about the Lwa (and Orishas, for that matter) asking for things that would seem to be outside of our normal abilities. I would add though that most of these requests are when a person is actually *called* by that Spirit or when it’s necessary for their health for whatever reason. I’ve seen both cases, actually.

    For my part, I was informed by my Padrino (Santeria) that I need to continue and actually receive the Saints in entirety…and I’ve informed Obatala that if he wants me, he can come and get me. ;-) Basically, I won’t go thru with it unless he brings the money and the proper people into my life for me to continue. (I refuse to go to Cuba and have doubts about going to Miami as well, so it would have to be a House in the local area…no easy task, even for Obatala!) At any rate, I know if it is meant to be, it will be.

    And…yes, one of the Lwa’s wants to get hitched. I’m in the process of preparing for that ceremony myself. So you’ll know someone more “personally” who has been through *maraj lwa*.

    As far as the Lwa having been human…well, I’ve got theories but no proof. So I leave them safely ensconced in my own head. There are several different origins for both the Lwa and the Orishas…and then if you research the historical origins of each and how they are/were revered in Africa, it gets all kinds of confusticated. But, naturally, I love academic headaches and keep torturing myself…lol.

    I’m also one of those polytheists who has had problems squishing non-deity Spirits from monotheistic practices into my beliefs. I managed…because the question hit me…exactly *what* is a god? Yeah. Meaty. But true…and I’m sure a blog post will come out of that one some day as well. I’ve hijacked your blog enough for one day!

    • I’m a little worried about getting into the individuals, actually. There are so many of them. And I want to name more than the major players. We always see Erzula Freda and Dantor, Legba and Damballah, the Baron and his wife. I want to name Bossou and Kalfou and various others in this listing as well. It’s just a matter of finding a decent enough place that has enough names, I guess.

      I guess I’m used to Legba asking me for easy things, which is why I always assume it’s that way. Because it is that way for me, thus it “must” be that way for everyone else. You know what they say about assuming though…

      • Yeah…about that :-D

        I would say, start with the basics. Because there are enough people out there who don’t even get *them* right. With the lesser-known ones, well there are good reasons some of them are lesser-known. Some of them are…well, touchy, I guess. Misunderstood at the least, abused at the worst. By the time you get through the basics you might find that you have more people commenting and willing to add in what they know about the more secretive ones. And you may have discovered some of them yourself. If you post one a week at most, it’ll give yourself some time to know the rest of them. You’re a busy girl after all! ;-) Keeping all those Egyptian spirits straight is enough for one person without even going into the Vodou!!! I’ll ask Mousie if she has any recommendations as far as good books in English…

  6. Yea i am a white guy who practices Tibetan Buddhism, Thelema, Solomonic magickes, and am a priest in Witchcraft, and then the Vodoun Lwa came to me. I did not seek them out. I was in New Orleans and bought a wood statue of Babaluaye and he and his friends like Damballah, La Dominadora, Exu, La Sirene and Pomba Gira just followed me home. I have read about every book on the subject under all its names, and could never practice it the way someone from Africa or Haiti does, but i have my own ways of honoring my Lwa. To me they are more like playful dangerous powerful friends rather than gods per se. And i feel closer to them personally than i do to even my witch god/esses which were mostly wiped out in Europe by the Christians. I think the Lwa are more “alive” because so many people pay homage and worship to them, thus creating an even more living egregore.

  7. Reblogged this on Blau Stern Schwarz Schlonge and commented:
    My comment – “I don’t know how i found this older post, maybe from one of your newer posts? i was going through about a hundred posts last night and somehow ended up bookmarking it, but i like it a lot and the comments. I too practice “vaguely voodoo-flavored practice” as a blanc witch and magickian. I, like Sallie Ann Glassman, do not use animal blood, being a Buddhist also. All i know is i went to NO years ago with a girlfriend and just before we left i bought a tall wooden Babaluaye which i carried on the plane under the seat in front of me which held a Catholic Priest (LOL bet he had some horny dreams) and then the rest of the family followed me home. And yes for me it is entirely UPG which is why i don’t write about it much as a blanc with so many Real Vodouns around. I think the way it is practiced in West Africa vs Haiti vs NO vs up north in Hoodoo land are very different. BTW some of my favourite books are those by Ray Malbrough (and like i said Sallie Ann Glassman) who used to live near me and whom i first took on a below ground graveyard pilgrimage and it was funny to watch him tip toe around since he was not used to walking on buried graves, LOL. I personally have no problems with the Lwa’s association with the Catholic Santos, but then i was not raised Catholic so don’t have that bad taste in my mouth from my youth. Gods, when you wrote (and my eyesight is bad) – “You are not getting down on your knees and singing their praises” i read “penises”…. I considered them to be just wild and crazy friends to party with and do magicke with, kinda like friends in high and low places, always handy. I am going to read the comments and then reblog this so TY. ” Read the many many comments too…..

Leave a Reply

