Altars and Creativity.

I’m not big into doing the altar thing, surprisingly enough. Especially for someone who needs to go out and get representation(s) of the gods/spirits she’s talking to almost immediately, I’m not really someone who wants to have a thousand altars set up to varying deities, reasons, or spirits. For a while, I entertained the idea of having an entire room dedicated to the whole venture. It seemed like a good idea: I could just go in there, shut the door, and get down with my business. But, I’m a practical person and that room would be better served as an office/spare bedroom. If push comes to shove, I can always make TH finish off a basement room for altar space.

But, in reality, what I have now is really all I want (sort of). Mostly, I tolerate the altars that I have currently. I have the shared space for My Lady and Legba. In a real world with real space, I want Legba to have his own table beside/near the main door that we use to go in and out of my home. (I also want a bowl set up for random penny offerings from everyone who may or may not wish to do so.) I want to have an entire space dedicated to everything that My Lady makes me think, see, or believe. I want to have an altar for the home and hearth with Hetharu and Bes making prominent appearances. And I want a giant fucking smorgasboard for the Deadz, with pictures and items that remind me of them as well as Wesir, Anpu, skulls, skeletons, purple, lace, and various Vodou representations on it. I mean, when I think about my Deadz altar, I pretty much cream in my pants at all the money I’m going to have to look into (and how much sewing I’m going to have to learn to do).

So, really, altars and me? I’m basic, which is why when I thought I should think about setting up a creativity altar, I pretty much just about wanted to head-desk myself.

I’ve debated the whole creative altar space for a long time. I’m a writer (or so I style myself) so it’s come into my head quite a bit. But, I’ve mostly just been along the lines of, “Oh, that’s interesting,” and left it at that. Once, I took it into my head that I really should actually have an altar for my creativity and a muse, but all I ever did with that was buy myself a scribe statue. Then, I promptly put that statue into a gold pyramid my best friend bought me for my birthday once and left it at that.

Don’t get me wrong: I like all the pictures that people post of altars relating to things. I see a lot of ones for Fortune and Good Luck. I’ve even seen one that’s wholly associated with Wisdom. (That was cute: it had a little graduation hat thing on it and a banner that said, E=MC2.) But, I’ve pretty much just felt that the whole thing wasn’t for me. It was a nice idea and sure, if someone was going to set lights on said altars and offered me a spot, I’d accept. But, I’m not the kind of person that’s going to go out there and start creating on my own. The idea behind it is all well and good, but I don’t really have (A) a lot space at present and (B) I’m too practical to just start creating tables for random things. And even if I move into a big, huge house where that’s feasible, I’ll still just want to say, “GAH. I can be using this room for other things!” And again, there is the whole if I have to, I’ll build it myself thing in the back of my head.

So, anyway. Rambling that way done.

For the last year (more), I’ve had the biggest block to end all blocks. I’ve cataloged this at varying points. It was work; it was being unemployed; it was being depressed. I had a whole bunch of reasons as to why writing and me had parted ways, indefinitely. They were good reasons, but with my odd experience that Sekhmet set into motion, I’ve realized that excuses are great to do nothing. In effect, they’re just fucking irritating. And it’s really made me realize that without writing, I feel just about as low as can be. It’s a great way to escape from reality and it’s a great way to make me feel better about things. (WARNING: ARMCHAIR PSYCHOLOGIST MOMENTS AHEAD.) While my life may be utterly chaotic in reality, I can “fix” those chaotic moments to fit better in a storyline that I’ve created. It’s a way for me to feel like I’m in control again.

So, with that in mind, I’ve been wracking my brain about what to write and how to get back into it. Technically, I don’t have to write anything since my story is “finished.” But, that’s just not me and as I’ve mentioned in the post with Sekhmet, I had a lot of feelings that the storyline was too choppy to actually make it anywhere. And that’s the point: I want to make it with this story. I may not end up as the next Charlaine Harris or Carrie Vaughn, but the least I can do is publish the fucking thing. After all, the plot has been living in my head for the better part of eight years now. It’s time to get serious; it’s time to do what I’ve wanted to do since I was in high school.

So, with all that in mind, I set up about creating an altar space to creativity. (HEAD-DESK.)

The other day, I bought a creativity candle from one of our [few] herbal shops. The candle is home-made and organic. It’s the color purple and has the scents of plumeria, sandalwood, and jasmine. When I bought the candle, I was given a little piece of paper with a “spell” on it that I could say to focus the energy of the candle. Let my mind be free from the burdens of the world. Allow me to explore new dimensions, discover new thoughts, ideas and emotions. I knew that I needed an added boost to get my creative juices flowing again, so the candle (since I <3 candles and I <3 candles that have focused power in them) was a nice addition to what I wanted to see done. Add all of that with my black scribe statue that I bought a while back and we have ourselves an impromptu creative altar.

Photobucket

14 thoughts on “Altars and Creativity.

  1. I’ve found that altars are constantly evolving. Just when you think you have it the way you want, you need to change it for a lifestyle change, a change of path, a new deity, a rite, etc. I would love to have a room dedicated to my ritual work. Ideally it would house my main altar, space for work with herbs, a comfortable area to meditate in, and my drum collection. Maybe someday!

      • Haha! Well that’s part of the fun. I have a friend who became a homeowner a few years ago and she has this lovely corner room with a slanted ceiling on the second floor. They didn’t want to sleep in their with the slant so she turned it into her ritual room. When you enter, you can literally feel the buzz. It’s wonderful!

  2. I have a room that is half my closet and half a temple room. When I move I know my space will be downgraded to a corner in the bedroom, but I hope that eventually I can go back to having a room for my sacred space. I know it seems like a waste, but to me it means I have a place to go and be quiet and have the room to dance or do whatever I like.

    I pretty much only have my main working altar. Although now I have a small one set up for Bast. I suppose if I think about it I have accidently made altars without thinking about it. As I look around the room I can see groupings of things, photos of family with mementos from trips, little statues and rocks and sacred things on shelves… etc.

  3. Good luck with writing! I´ve never had the patience and stamina to write anything creative longer than poems. You could try asking Seshat to help while you sit and write, she´s been really great helping me focus and find inspiration with my blog posts, but I wonder if that has more to do with the fact that I was writing about historical things and the writing/thinking process itself more than it being a creative pursuit. Who knows, your relationship with one another might just end up being what you needed.

    • I’ve thought about actively cultivating a relationship with Seshat on numerous occasions. It seems like a sound idea: writers! Patrons! Yippee! But I’ve never gotten the feeling that she cares for me/wants my attention. In similar vein, I’ve thought about Djehuti as a patron for this, but again, polite disinterest.

      I wonder if I need to look to the Greek muses for this. I’ve always loved Clio (history) and if I ever got my history degree, I would have dedicated it to her. But aside from Clio, I’ve never been big with the Greeks. So, not *positive* that’s a route to go.

      • I was first to approach her and I´m glad I did. I don´t think you need to wait for an invitation to start talking. With Djehuty I´ve only ever gotten the sensation “You´re so not ready for me…but I like the direction you´re going.” XD

        • I’ll start chatting to her prior to the creative process and see what happens. Hopefully, something good!

          I think my issue with most gods is a deep uncertainty in approaching them. (Aha! moment. Blog post on that may just end up happening.) I’m always nervous I’m going to be brutally rebuffed.

  4. Pingback: Your own personal altar picture « Psyconomics – Exercise your well being.

  5. Pingback: The Celestial Brush Off. | Mystical Bewilderment

Leave a Reply

