The Healing Petitions of an Uncertain Witch.

I don’t do magic. I want to, but I don’t. Mostly, it’s fear holding me back, but it’s also not really knowing what in the fuck I’m doing. I’ve detailed all this before (here and here) so I won’t bore with a hash over. However, recently I was reminded that I should look to it once in a while. So, with that in mind, I took it upon myself to do some healing for myself and my son on Imbolc.

The Whole Shebang.
The whole altar.

My very first step was to place a petition at the feet of Sekhmet. She is the goddess of healing, after all. Prior to this, I have very rarely asked her for anything. I’d light a candle here and there in the name of someone who would need help, someone who posted an energy request on TC or something. So, I kind of knew what to do with this. The thing is that I’ve always been very worried about asking her for things. I know that I shouldn’t, but one never really knows how a god will react when you ask about things for the self. I’m not sure where this idea or thought process came from but it’s one that I know will be difficult to break.

Burning Cinnamon.
Lit petition for Sekhmet.

I took a plain, white tealight and sprinkled it with cinnamon. It’s one of the herbs that Scott Cunningham recommends as healing. I placed the tea light and cinnamon concoction in one of my little incense dishes. I wasn’t sure if the cinnamon would burn or not, so I felt it was better to be safe than sorry. I lit a cone of incense and the passion candle I have appropriated for her use. Then, I lit the tea light. I let it burn itself out. It didn’t seem like a good idea to snuff it out, but that it should complete its burning cycle. When it finished itself off, I whisked that away to be replaced by a plate with some naan on it. It was a kind of ‘thank you’ as well as a homey-related offering for Hetharu.

However, the reminder for healing magic was specific to the Ghede. A few days back, my son was incredibly poorly. He was so ill, with his cough, that he was in tears because he actually couldn’t stop coughing. I was worried I would have to take him to a doctor, which I hate the idea of. I don’t want to be one of those mothers who freak out at the slightest sign of illness, but I also don’t feel the need to waste a co-pay when they won’t do anything. While I was dithering about what to do, I made a thousand comments about how I would rather take his illness if he would get better. It was suggested that I petition the Ghede, as they hold dominion over healing… especially over children.

With that in mind, I figured it was time to do something serious here.

For this work, I chose a plain, white votive candle to do the working. I have a large package of twenty that has been waiting for use, just taking up space in my cabinet of tricks. Initially, I wanted to anoint the candle with something. However, I didn’t have a scent that I felt would be appropriate for healing work. It has since been suggested that olive oil is an excellent oil for anointing things. I plan on seeing if that is the case when I do my Valentine’s petitions!

Photobucket
The six herbs I chose.

I chose six herbs for this. I flipped through Scott Cunningham’s book, of course, since I don’t have it memorized yet. I made a little list in my head that I wanted to have to hand. However, the list I had intended didn’t happen. I couldn’t find my mugwort (how the fuck can it go missing in a cabinet?) and totally flaked on the cinnamon, even though it was in my pocket when I was sprinkling. I chose the following herbs for the following reasons… I chose lavender to promote sleeping. Chamomile for calming and soothing. I chose bay because I love it and it was a recommendation. Ginger root was added for promotion of healthy digestion. Then, I chose rose and rosemary based on Cunningham’s recommendation. But, you know, it made the whole concoction look beautiful.

Photobucket
The finished product prior to burn.
Photobucket
The finished product burning nicely.

The entire thing burned pretty much through the afternoon. I was kind of worried because, as I’ve said, I’ve never done this before. I wasn’t sure if all the herbs would go up in a pillar of flames or if they’d be left alone. I’m glad to announce that they did not burn. Actually, the wax just melted in a nice little pool beneath the herbs. When it was over, I debated long and hard what to do with the herbs. Since it was a petition for Ghede, I figured the best bet was to leave it at an offering at a local cemetery, which I went to yesterday.

I’m not sure if this worked or not, to be honest. My ear is blocked (and has been since the burn completed, almost) but I’m feeling more energetically and am able to do more and more around the house without feeling the need for a six-hour nap afterward. I’m assuming the healing process is going to be a long one since I was pretty sick when I finally took it upon myself to perform a petition to get rid of said illness. I can safely say that my son, though, is almost entirely back to normal with a small cough left over and the never-ending run of snot from his nose.

I end this with a final picture because I was curious to get other people’s thoughts on what the hell was going on with it. I took this picture with my cell phone to post on Twitter. I didn’t notice the little purple ball or what have you above the flame until someone else pointed it out. I don’t know if it was a trick of the light, which is possible, or if it actually should be taken into consideration as something other. Any thoughts and ideas would be lovely.

What Is That?, Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App
Any thoughts on what that purple thing is above the flame?
Leave a Reply

