Herbal Crafts And Rearranging Cabinetry.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been working with dried herbs for Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App various purposes. Okay, I take that back. That makes it sound as though I’ve been doing this stuff all of my life, which isn’t even remotely true. I have been doing this since I met The Sister (face-to-face). Almost from the get-go, she had been showing me how to make herbal sachets and to add herbs to better assist spells along. I’ve taken the little bits and pieces that she’s shown me and made it my own: I can make sachets for whatever purposes I so desire now. I’m also pretty good with various infusions, tinctures, and teas.

With all of that, my pharmacopeia isn’t as big as it used to be. I had to get rid of things a while back for various reasons. I also fell out of the whole herbal crafting business for a while. (This was pre-current magic making stuff happened.) I’ve recently got back into it since I feel that herbal craft and learning the trade, so to speak, is part and parcel to the magical path I have in front of me. Since I’m thinking hedge witchery is where I’m going to start embarking, it’s only natural that I should get back into things. (What I wouldn’t give to have unlimited funds so I could get all of the dried herbs I dream of. You should see the wish list. It’s fucking huge.)

I’ve been making more teas lately. I got to practice a “bring the courses” tea a little while back for a family member. The Sister has asked that I start making her mugwort tea since it’s the best way to enhance psychic visions as quickly as possible. Not to mention, the natural high is entirely worth it, if I do say so myself.

However, I got to really practice with my appeals process for Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App unemployment. I made two sachets: one went to the employee of mine who was fired with me. I made her a blue sachet for courage. Mostly, The Sister fashioned that one since I was pretty damn invested in the one for myself. I chose orange for assistance in court cases. I added a whole mess of herbs, but mostly, I was listening to my nose when I was making it: if it smells good, then you know it’s done. This is advice straight from The Sister. It works, too. (I also added a few stones to the mixture.) When The Sister and I were working on these sachets, it really dawned on me how much I enjoyed herbal crafting. It also made me want to do more. So, I offered my services to a friend of mine who needed protection.

I went with white, of course, for the sachets. I thought, briefly, about black but I didn’t see it as feasible. Also, I want them clearly visible. I made two of them since I want them to be nailed over the two entrances to her home. (She was worried about people breaking and entering because of an incident that occurred due to their [now] ex-roommate.) I envisioned these two sachets: one would be smaller for the back door, which has less traffic. The larger one would go above the front door. I wanted them nailed above the doorway in a mimicry of horseshoes. Once I had the basic concept in my mind’s eye, I got to work.

At first, I went by the book, Cunningham’s Encyclopedia of Magical Herbs. This is, to me, the Bible of what I do when it comes to tinctures Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App and sachets. I’ve been using this book almost from the very get-go of this work. However, as time went by, I started working with my nose as The Sister taught me. I think it’s kind of interesting that, often, it takes me a while before I can trust my instincts. It’s like I have to utilize the book learning that I have, the tangible variant of instincts, in order to get started. I can have a general idea of what my inner wisdom is going to tell me, but it’s like I need a back up for that just in case moment that I don’t feel that things are going right.

I chose a very spicy scent for the two bags.

Afterward, I chose the time to actually rearrange and organize my Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App herbal cabinet. It’s been getting more and more out of hand lately. It’s my fault since the cabinet is up high and small: I have to stand on a step stool to pull out the easily accessible items and a chair from the kitchen table if I honestly want to get in there. It’s so irritating and tiring to actually get up there and start messing about with Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App things. However, I had been eyeballing the cabinets pretty much all week. I knew that I wanted to get it all said and done. It was just a matter of finding the time, taking the time, and actually following through with something that I decided to do. It’s that lazy gene o’ mine that causes all the problems. However, when I’m able to kick its ass, I do a really fucking awesome job at things. I can not only see what all of the herbs I have are, but I can pull out my cauldron without having to worry about breaking jars by accidentally pulling them out when I don’t want them.

And, of course, once I get in the organizing mood, I have to keep going. Since I had been thinking about rearranging the herbs, I had, of course, Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App given some serious thought to doing the same with my altar o’ things. It just wasn’t functional. I had the cups and plates on the bottom shelf and the bottle I want to turn into a spirit bottle in front of all the things I needed to access… Yeah. It just wasn’t working and was only a matter of time before I actually broke something. (That jar of coffee in there? Papa Legba wanted it. I don’t know what for yet… but something.) With a little of this and a little of that, and pulling every damn thing out, I was able to get it to a more functional cabinet of curiosities. And I finally managed to get all of my Tarot related items into one spot without causing further damage to the Anubis Oracle!

It’s fantastic when I actually decide to get work done. I accomplish shit!

2 thoughts on “Herbal Crafts And Rearranging Cabinetry.

  1. I still always start with the book for the first couple herbs, then follow up with the sniffing. I lovey the sniffy. :)

    I totally need to reorganize myself, and I think I am going to take some of your initiative and jump on that bandwagon.

    And I totally love the altar set up.

    • I’m waiting for the day where I can do this without so much as looking at the book. I mean, the book should be a book of ideas as opposed to leading me in the direction that I want to go. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get there one day. In the mean time, starting with the book, it is.

      Reorganizing is so much fun! And then, you finish doing it and you’re all, like: “YEAH! I DID THAT!” And then, of course, comes the whole disorganizing as you try to find your things…

      Thanks.

Leave a Reply

