Chemen Long Pa Touye Moun.

A long road does not kill people.

I’ve always been moderately interested in vodou. I think the interest started when I was a teenager and I read the Landry family series by V.C. Andrews. It takes place in the bayou and in New Orleans, so both mysticism and vodou play various parts in the series. I was instantly entranced with the idea of gris-gris, but I think that’s because, as a lonely teenager, I felt that any form of good luck charm would be pretty handy. The interest faded along with my interest in V.C. Andrews and her horror/love stories. Of course, it came back when I started to read Nyktipolos’s Blog since she mentioned Papa Ghede.

Now, the only lwa I was aware of to this point were both Papa Ghede and Papa Legba. I’ve always been partial to Papa Legba for the simple fact that I find his name easy to say: it just rolls off of the tongue. So, when I started to take a more active interest in vodou, I was pretty excited to learn more about Papa Legba.

That is, until I actually learned more about him.

Insert heaving sigh here.

Photobucket This is the symbol, or veve, for Papa Legba. Papa Legba is the man at the crossroads. He is the first spirit invoked because he is the one who either allows or disallows access to all of the other lwa. He is commonly pictured as an old man with a cane. He’s a jokester and loves to tell jokes. He is also the lwa of opportunities. He makes them happen and he takes them away. He makes sure that the changes your life needs get done, whether you want them to or not. When I picture Papa Legba, I see a man sitting at an old crossroads with trees all around and tall grass. He’s sitting on the side of the road with a cane beside him. His skin is as dark as midnight but his teeth are as white the clouds. He’s always smiling this big gap-toothed smile.

This seems like a pleasant image, neh?

My problem is the fact that, if he really is asking for my attention, he wants to implement changes in my life. And I know specifically what he wants and how he wants it done. And, you know, in principle, I completely agree with what he wants done. But, you know, my life can’t be run on principles, but on facts. And even though the changes he sees in my future (and that, you know, I wouldn’t mind having, to be perfectly honest) are definitely for the better, the road to get there don’t pay the bills. Technically, I’m allowed to (if I go this route and, you know, acknowledge him at present) explain to him that if he wants to do this-this-and-this to my life, then he has to ensure this-this-and-this, otherwise, it would make my life economically unfeasible. According to my little handy-dandy book, I can talk to the lwa this way and, as long as I am respectful, they will take it under advisement.

All I have to do, though, is acknowledge this spirit.

And, I don’t know if I want to.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m learning a lot from reading this handbook. And I have figured out exactly what Sekhmet was trying to tell me when she said to look in that direction. However, I don’t know if I can be as respectful as I would need to be to maintain a healthy relationship with the lwa. I’m not much into groveling, as Sekhmet can attest. Maybe by his calling to me it’s supposed to teach me humility? Hm. Maybe.

I don’t know.

I just don’t know.

It should be interesting, though, if I do decide to honor him. All I have to do, really, is to go to a crossroads and leave offerings. I don’t even have to have much of a sacred space! That’s cool right there. And nifty. Of course, I’d have to find an older, older crossroads, I guess, for it to work. In my head, and all. Since, you know, I see him at an ancient crossroads and whatnot.

Dunno. Dunno. Dunno.

I’d ask for my clarification in this whole dream thing. I know, I know he gave me that dream about the gnarled avenue of trees, but I’d like some more than just some old, old trees, you know? It would be nice to have, maybe, a little conversation or something! Then again, maybe not. I might not get his sense of humor. :/

2 thoughts on “Chemen Long Pa Touye Moun.

  1. At some point you either have to do it, or don’t do it. A sometimes annoying, unfair, “why the fuck are you doing this to me?!” crossroads, but a necessary one. We’re not meant to stay at one forever.

    I’m glad my post helped (?) you out somewhat. Ironically, I was never meant to follow Ghede, although I had thought it might be possible. To this day I don’t get /why/. I should probably ask someone. Hm.

    • I’m definitely the kind of person that (dis)likes to hem and haw before finally coming to a decision. And then, I put that decision on hold because I don’t know if it’s the correct decision in the first place. And then, I get shoved into a direction, whether I want to or not. That’s about the point where I start screeching: “WHY THE HELL ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME?” Of course, the answer to that question is obvious, but I like to whine about it before I start dealing.

      I don’t know if I’m supposed to follow Legba or not. He seems at least slightly interested in getting my attention, but I don’t know if that’s because he really needs me for a long time thing, a short time thing, or he’ll just facilitate some important learnings. Yay for teetering on the brink of uncertainty!

Leave a Reply

