If A Man Be Lacking In Good Fellowship, No Speech Has Any Influence Upon Him.

be·lief
–noun
1. something believed; an opinion or conviction. 2. confidence in the truth or existence of something not immediately susceptible to rigorous proof. 3. confidence; faith; trust. 4. a religious tenet or tenets; religious creed or faith.

faith
–noun
1. confidence or trust in a person or thing. 2. belief that is not based on proof. 3. belief in god or in the doctrines or teachings of religion. 4. belief in anything, as a code of ethics, standards of merit, etc. 5. a system of religious belief. 6. the obligation of loyalty or fidelity to a person, promise, engagement, etc. 7. the observance of this obligation; fidelity to one’s promise, oath, allegiance, etc. 8. Christian Theology the trust in God and in His promises as made through Christ and the Scriptures by which humans are justified or saved.

In regards to belief and faith, these two words are not interchangeable although they both seem to have a similar essence. It is through belief that religion is given life in one’s heart and mind, but it is through the leap of faith that we keep that burning belief alive. If we held onto a belief, such as that of Santa Claus or the Tooth Fairy, then we would have the faith that Santa would come every Christmas morning and that when we lost a tooth, the Tooth Fairy would show up with money beneath our pillow. As you grow older and you stop believing in “childish notions” such as the Tooth Fairy, then I think it becomes harder for those of us to continue a belief and to continue to have faith.

I have a belief that there are many gods out there. I believe in all pantheons, whether I worship from them or not. I think that all of the gods are moving around up there, somewhere, and watching out for us. They had lost their belief structure a long time ago when the Christian God came and muscled them out of His way. Do I blame Him? No. I think it a heady thing for any form of god to have worshipers and even more exciting for them to have people do anything to maintain them. I think that if I were in the shoes of the old gods, I would have been upset at the decline, but I would have understood the need for change. That isn’t to say that I don’t think the many gods are happy with the way things have gone–far from it–but I do believe that they have finally come to a live, and let live policy on the whole thing.

And besides, they have believers now.

I have a belief that when I ask for help from the gods, they will grant it to me if I am deserving. I have a belief that if I wake them every morning, they will be satisfied. I have a belief that they are happy with their daily offerings. I have a belief that they are thrilled with my open acknowledgment of their existence. I have a belief that they are there and watching over us. I have a belief that they will help me to protect my son with everything they have. I have a belief that they agree that he should have a form of god-protection in his room. I have a belief that they speak to me every day, either in my mind or with things that I see and things that I hear. I have a belief that they are here.

However, it is with faith that I bring them alive in my life. And I have little faith at the moment.

I believe that they exist, but I have little faith to put it into practice.

I have always had a problem with faith.

I think this stems from the blind faith movement that all religions ask for: You just simply have to have the faith that they really are there and that they really are listening. You can believe it with your mind, but faith is an act of the heart. My heart is shriveled, used, and cold most of the times. My heart is so used to the anger and the hurt and the pain that to have anything positive within it is a new, painful sensation. Not only that, but it is difficult to maintain.

Faith is an act of the heart, while belief is the act of the mind. It is easy to train the mind, but more difficult to train the heart.

How do you train your heart when you think it’s broken? How do you train your heart to believe the same things as your mind? How do you manage to give yourself that which every human being, a basic belief in something that is unchangeable? How can anyone do this on a daily basis? I feel like I’m lacking on this. I feel like I am so far behind everyone else who walks a similar path. How do I become a good follower, one who has both belief and faith?

I have one, but little of the other. How do I fix this?

He said that faith is like a glass of water. When you’re young, the glass is small, and it’s easy to fill up. But the older you get, the bigger the glass gets, and the same amount of liquid doesn’t fill it anymore. Periodically, the glass has to be refilled.

Leave a Reply

