Sekhmet Commentary.

From out of darkness I arise – fire, heat, primal roar. From out of darkness I awaken you, burning away the waste of your days and the fears of your nights. I warm your hearts and show you Truth where you would look at falsehood. Through your mouth, I growl at those who threaten peace and roar at those who commit injustice.

This was posted on a page that I am a fan of on Facebook regarding Sekhmet and it really resonated with me. I wanted to post it as a reminder.

Mine is a heart of carnelian, crimson as murder on a holy day. Mine is a heart of cornel, the gnarled roots of a dogwood and the bursting of flowers. I am the broken wax seal on my lover’s letters. I am the phoenix, the fiery sun, consuming and resuming myself. I pace the halls of the underworld. I knock on the doors of death. I wander into the fields to stare at the sun and lie in the grass, ripe as a fig. The souls of the gods are with me. They hum like flies in my ears. I will what I will. Mine is a heart of carnelian, blood red as the crest of a phoenix.

Leave a Reply

