It Is Disgraceful to be Greedy.

I keep getting the feeling that Sekhmet wants something from me, in various arenas, but I don’t know what she wants or in conjunction with what. She’s all right with the current offerings (I’ve been doing the “Grain Train” with the two of them: bread and cold water), but I keep getting the distinct impression that she wants more. I don’t know if she wants me to make her some naan bread again, though I will because that’s what I did last Halloween and it was fantastic. I don’t know if she wants me to slice off a piece of raw meet and slap it on a plate for her.

I’m thinking about trying chocolate and seeing how that goes.

To be honest, however, whatever she desires it isn’t just a little extra in her morning offering. I think there’s more to it than that.

So, that could leave her shrine. Maybe she wants to get into her closed door shrine where she hardly ever sees the light of day, but I don’t believe that that is it, either. Don’t get me wrong; she and I have been going back and forth on this subject for some time. So, it’s possible that I’ve misinterpreted her last commentary on the subject, which was that she wants the the cabinet du jour that we had picked out months ago. She decided that I was right (!!! She agreed that I was right!!!) and that she was being a little too demanding and difficult about the shelves she said she wanted. So, we moved back to the shrine!

However, I’m not sure if she’s telling me that I need to buy it right this second or else. As I said, she wants something more from me, but I can’t be positive about the origin of just what that something is. She’s not telling, but just kind of… poking me and prodding me… in a silently aggravating way.

So, this leads me to the dream about the rings from the other night. Maybe she wants me to get my ass in gear and find an appropriate (and fitting) carnelian ring as well as a lapis lazuli one. Okay, that’s fine, except that the initial ring I was looking at, I was told wasn’t actually a real lapis lazuli stone but a lab created one. (They’ll go through any lengths to create everything that’s natural, won’t they?) And I knew for a fact that a lab-created stone was unacceptable. So, okay. Now, I have to find one and I did and I’m looking at it right this second however, I don’t think I can get a size 7, which is in stock, because I want that ring on my index finger and I’m sure that it’s an eight. So… do I wait or just buy it and wear it on my middle finger? I don’t know!

And it’s not like she’s telling me. Ugh.

4 thoughts on “It Is Disgraceful to be Greedy.

  1. Aphrodite wants something from me too and I can’t figure that one out either. I hate it when the deities are silent about that stuff.

    I would be careful about buying something that isn’t the correct size, you saw what happened last time. You don’t want to buy it and then not be able to wear it. That would be pointless. So I would make sure that I find something in the right size.

  2. I know! I mean, don’t get me wrong. I know where this is going: They’re teaching us to stand on our own two feet and to learn and to blah, blah, blah, blah. I get where this is supposed to go, but I mean, shit man! How hard is it to say, “You know, you could make this better by _insert action/offering here_” If they would give us some sterling examples, then it would help us in future!

    Honestly? The rings I bought were a size 6 and 7 the last time, but they were both the same size. That’s my fear that this will happen again. If they are the right sizes that I need/want, then they’ll be a little big. However, they’ve got tape to help that out!

    I really wish there were jewelry stores that carried the cheap but pretty jewelry that were in Texas. =/ And I don’t mean pawn shops. You know what I mean? Alternative shops and whatnot that weren’t REALLY pagan.

  3. I know what you mean about the jewelry. Unfortunately there really isn’t anything around here that has that.

    I REALLY REALLY want Aphrodite to just go ahead and tell me what the hell she wants. This is getting aggravating.

  4. I figured it out, as my next post shows.

    You need to buy some more incense for a start. She’s probably getting really pissy about that. She’ll be slightly mollified if you get some cheap shit to last until you get the good stuff in. Then, I think prostration and thanks and meditation would be a good start to figuring out what she wants.

Leave a Reply

