If You Sit With a Company of People, Desire Not the Food.

I dreamed of desert sands and the roars of lions, the laugh of the hyenas, and the stealthy grin of the jackal. The air was warm and dry and it was blowing. The wind caressed my skin like we were lovers, so gently. The sand blows, caused by that gentle wind, scraped against me like the rough-worn tongue of a cat. It was ticklish and inviting, but it was also a steady reminder… of something.

I looked down at my hand and I wore a ring of carnelian. It was like the one imaged above, which is the very ring I bought months ago for myself on behalf of Sekhmet. Instead of wearing it daily, as I had intended, it sits on her shrine as useless to me as anything. She grows irritable over the case of the ring, I know, but there is nothing I can do. My fingers swell off and on throughout the day, rendering the wearing of it impossible. And besides, it’s supposed to go on my index finger anyway and it’s much too small for that…

Anyway, I wore a ring on my right index finger. It glowed blood red in the golden-red hues of a soon-to-be sleeping desert. The ring was long, taking up the entire space between the base of my finger and the first knuckle, like this. It glowed a pulsing red in the dying light, but soon changed color like it was a mood ring. It changed to a deep, dark, ever-lasting blue. It was the blue a mood ring sticks to once it’s been worn too often. It was that shade of blue, but I remembered the vivid red.

I think this dream is supposed to shove me out and find a ring. I don’t wear the carnelian rose pendant I bought for Sekhmet as often as I should. It’s a beautiful piece, which is part of the reason why. I don’t want to damage it, which is my constant fear. It’s incredibly delicate and it’s already lost a faint piece (in the back) because of mis-handling. So, I try not to wear it anywhere very often. But, this isn’t enough for my patroness, I suppose. She demanded a big, in-your-face ring. And this suits me just fine… if I could find something both she and I like.

I am bothered, though, by the fact that the stone turned dark blue after a while. I don’t know what that’s supposed to represent. I would say it had something to do with Hwt-Hrw, but to me, she is gold and turquoise. The blue was a dark color, like that associated with Nut. And anyone who has been in my house, the dark blue color of my [future] akh shrine. So, either this is reminding me that I need to get back on the horse and start with the ancestor worship as this will benefit my spiritual self OR…

Yeah, I don’t know. I’ve got nothing.

In other jewelry news…

Last year, I bought an onyx pendant like the one above. I bought the stone because onyx is known to separate. It can help release negative emotions such as sorrow and grief. It is used to end unhappy or bothersome relationships. Onyx jewelry is worn to defend against negativity that is directed at you. And at the time, I was living in a pretty negative place and was constantly being snapped at about things. Anyway, so I figured the onyx pendant would do well to center me and to help me through a dark/unhappy period in my life.

I’ve re-annointed it with protection like you wouldn’t believe about a thousand times. It was through my onyx pendant that I held supreme protection throughout my person. A few days ago, I came home from work and the damn thing fell off the chain I’ve been wearing it on for over a year. It fell at my feet and I stared at it, completely confused. It’s fallen of the chain before, but that was an easy fix. Staring at the piece at my feet, I noticed that something had bent one of the hooks on the side of the pendant, which is why it fell off. I don’t know what I did to make that happen.

Anyway, I had a sneaking suspicion that I was being told not to wear the blasted thing any longer. On the chain in question, I currently wear a crystal of golden tiger’s eye, which is utterly lonely without its black onyx companion. I bought the tiger’s eye for Sekhmet since it was as close as I could find for her at the time that I began this Kemetic Recon path of mine. (She tolerates it and I think it grows on her, in all honestly.) So, now I wonder what the reason behind the break was.

I’m not longer in the specific situation the black onyx pendant was bought for, so that could be it. Perhaps Sekhmet was offended that I was still wearing it. Perhaps it’s trying to say that the protection has worn off and I need to get something else? I honestly do not know. All I know is that with pendants falling off of chains and my special jewelry constantly going missing (earrings, rings, and necklaces have all up and taken a walk in the last few months), I’m feeling like I can only wear the chain with the tiger’s eye, the engagement ring, and my birth stone.

Hopefully, I figure this shit out and get the jewelry I’m supposed to be wearing… or whatever.

4 thoughts on “If You Sit With a Company of People, Desire Not the Food.

  1. Awesome dream. I couldn’t tell you exactly what the dark blue was supposed to represent either, but maybe it is for your shrine. I say start worshiping your ancestors and see where that takes you. It can’t hurt you any, and it will probably enrich your spiritual life quite a bit.

    You will find the ring eventually, it just takes a bit of digging before you find exactly what you are looking for.

  2. I updated this to add about my onyx pendant randomly falling off. FYI.

    The more I think about the dream and the blue color, I don’t think it was intended to get my ass in gear with my akh shrine. Sure, getting down and dirty with my ancestors would be cool and awesome and is necessary, but I think I have to still work with Hwt-Hrw and Sekhmet more… Well, Sekhmet. Hwt-Hrw is doing her hippy-dippy, “la, la, la, yay! I’m recognized!” thing.

    I think I can find a ring that I like on eBay but I think I also have to find more jewelry for various other purposes. It’s too bad there aren’t any new age jewelry stores around here (gods, I need to go to Salem at some point and check prices there…) that aren’t ass-expensive. In the mean time, Internet searches, Here. I. Come!

    • I am wondering if you are right about not needing the protection anymore. You aren’t in the same space you were before, so you don’t need as much negativity protection. Or it could just be that you need to update it to fit your current situation.

      As for the ring, I am sure you can find something. Make sure your ring size hasn’t changed, (mine did) and see what you can find.

      The internets is a wonderful place to find things!

      • I think I need to update my protection. I found a ring of lapis lazuli that I really liked, but I don’t know what I would need it for. I want a ring of carnelian, too, but I can’t find it (on Amazon) like I want it. I found something on eBay but I’m leery of an eBay purchase since things tend to me used more often than not over there.

Leave a Reply

