Great is the Benevolence of Re.

My half-moon shelves came in the mail today. I’m very excited to put them up so that I can get Hwt-Hrw up and onto her own altar. I have to put it off until we all have time to get a level and put them up in a way that I find satisfactory. I already have an idea in mind: I want them staggered so that none of them are beside each other. I want Hwt-Hrw on the highest shelf and various objects that I want to dedicate her on her behalf on the answering shelves. On the last shelf, I want to put the dish and bowl dedicated to her offerings.

For her altar, I need to purchase the following: her own kyphi candle, a holder for her personal natron, and a candle holder that’s befitting of her. These are just the things that I can think up off the top of my head. I know that I have to wait patiently for other items on her behalf. I do want to give her something glittery and gold like since, after all, she is known as the Lady of Gold. I also want to get a couple of stones together that I think she would like to put on her altar. I have so many ideas and so little money to do it all at once!

In other news, Sekhmet has pretty much informed me that she is not getting a cabinet “monstrosity.” (That is exactly what she said.) She wants a set of stream-lined shelves that are not painted, are not white, and are not black. She wants something in a cedar, maple arena, but finding floating shelves with that kind of coloring is hard. I’m thinking that I should take a trip up to the Triple B (Bed, Bath, and Beyond) and see what they have. However, if I recall correctly from my last trip in that store months and months and months ago, they only had cherry and black shelves. They were also a little too pricey for my tastes.

However, when the goddess speaks then I have to listen. And I should obey in a decent amount of time.

I’m still trying to figure out what kind of things I want to put on her shelves. I want to try and buy a vial of sand directly from ancient Egypt for her and also, get her a new kyphi candle with affiliated holder. I’m thinking about picking up a votive of a lion, but I’m not feeling that as strongly as I am about the vial of sand and the candle. I know what to do for Hwt-Hrw but Sekhmet is still eerily silent unless she’s verbally bitch-slapping me into what she wants.

Gah. Things will come to me.

I have nearly completed my first vase of “ancient Egyptian flora” or things that I think are particularly ancient Egyptian like. I have some cattails, some wheat grass, and some peacock feathers. I want a couple of other things to go with it and I want to find a vase that screams, “THIS COULD BE OLD! LIKE THOUSANDS OF YEARS OLD!” to complete the whole feature. In the mean time, I need to create a smaller one for the other side of the room so that the overwhelming tall one doesn’t take up too much room.

I found a cabinet on the side of the road that will be my akh shrine, AKA Shrine of the Blessed Dead. I have to get a bunch of pictures and put them in nice frames for this small cabinet. I’ve hit up family for pictures, although how I’m going to print these things out is another story. I want sizes 5×7 and up. I also get to put things associated with my ancestors in and around the shrine, however, I don’t know quite what to add aside from the pictures…

I have to paint the cabinet first. There’s no way I am having anymore white taking up a shit-ton of space in my apartment. I suppose I could strip it and stain it a deep color, but (A) that sounds like a pain in the ass and (B) I think Anthony would put his foot down about this. Of course, sanding is a pain in the ass, never mind the whole staining process. (Actually, I think staining is probably a lot easier than the whole sanding aspect.) I could also paint it deep blue and add gold stars to it as I had originally intended with Sekhmet’s shrine/cabinet…

Hm… I could buy some dark blue paint and then gold stamp paint and star stamps from Michael’s… Hm… This could be workable.

In the mean time, I have to remind myself to be patient. I can’t do everything all at once, no matter how much I would love to!

2 thoughts on “Great is the Benevolence of Re.

  1. Those shelves sound really good! I still need to find a fake plant or something to put on Aphrodite’s shrine. She has not exactly said what she wants there, only that it has to be pleasing to her eye. So I guess I will know when I get to it. I also need to buy her statue because she knows that I bought you your Sekhmet one and she is pissed because I have not gotten hers yet. AND she is jealous that you have two while she has none. Next pay period the first thing I am going to do is get it.

    I am glad that these things are coming to you! I think Sekhmet will definitely let you know what she wants when it comes time to get it! Don’t we both wish we had unlimited funds to get everything we want/need for our Patrons! Such is a luxury we will probably never have, but the Gods understand and give us some leeway with it.

    If you wanted to go the stars route, I really do recommend star stamps.

    • You should remind Aphrodite that I was thwapped by Hwt-Hrw months ago and put it off, and off, and off, and ignored, and ignored, and ignored until I finally gave in. So, technically, Hwt-Hrw waited a good couple of months before I (A) acknowledged her presence and (B) bought her statue. Besides, it was pretty wise of me to buy the statue first because now, I cannot ignore her even if I don’t like what she is saying/doing. So, unless Aphrodite wants something like that… she should probably get over being jealous.

      Sekhmet is, indeed, pretty good about telling me what she wants, when she wants it.

Leave a Reply

